Picture

It was with feelings of trepidation that I drove with my husband to Scunthorpe on Saturday 20th October 2012 for my not so long awaited book signing. I was slightly worried because the Scunthorpe Telegraph (who I relied on for the publicity of my event) hadn't put it in Thursday's newspaper and so I didn't know what the turnout would be like. Still concerned, I entered the Scunthorpe store to be met by the manager who greeted me with a broad smile and couldn't do enough to ensure I was both satisfied and comfortable with my 'spot'.

The store had already arranged a table and chair for me, set in a suitable position close to where customers who were browsing around the store could see me. I sat myself down and within five minutes I spotted someone I used to work with at Henderson Avenue Primary School and quickly called him over. I'm pleased to say he was thrilled to see that my book was out to buy and promptly became my first customer of the day. Soon after, more readers came to see me as they had seen the event advertised on Facebook and via twitter and the shop had put up my posters for me at least a week in advance and when I looked up the press had arrived and they were busy clicking away and I had the pleasure of having pictures taken with my new readers.

The time just flew by while I chatted to lots of lovely people who wanted to know more about me and my book, wishing to learn about the characters I had created and how I came up with the whole idea of 'Sinners of Magic'. Before I knew it, my three hours were up and I was packing away ready to go off to Oxford for a friends wedding. I have to say there is nothing like the buzz of a book signing, especially when the event turns out to be such a success. I just love how I get to interact with people who are genuinely interested in my story and who want to know as much as possible about the book before they speed off home with a signed copy clutched firmly in their hands.

A big thank you to everyone who came and supported me on Saturday, especially Molly and her family who travelled all the way from Nottingham to come and see me. I would also like to thank the staff of WHSmiths Scunthorpe for making me feel so very welcome and I look forward to perhaps organising another successful book signing with them in the future.

Thanks everyone for your support because without you my story would never have gotten the chance to see the light of day x
Best wishes,
Lynette







Leave a Reply.